Find My’s expanded location sharing options give you more flexibility.
iOS 27 upgrades your iPhone with tons of improvements to Apple Intelligence, Siri, Child Safety, Accessibility, Maps and more. You’ll also notice some minor upgrades to the Find My app, including the ability to share your location for a temporary period rather than all the time.
Let’s say you’re traveling with friends, but you’ve planned for everyone to do whatever they want for an afternoon. Fine-tuned location sharing lets you keep everyone informed of where you are without worrying about having to turn the setting off after your trip. Or maybe you’re going on a blind date and you’d feel better if your roommate could track your location for added peace of mind.
This option has been available on iOS for a while, but now it’s even more customizable. When an hour is too short but permanent sharing is too long, you have more options.
Set your personalized sharing period
In iOS 26 and earlier, you can choose to share your location with someone in Find My for an hour, a day, or indefinitely. Now it’s possible to share for a few days (like the length of a trip), just a few hours (like while you’re having dinner and the babysitter is on shift), or even just for 15 minutes.
The options appear as For an hour, For today, Always Or Custom. If you select CustomYou can use rolling dials to choose by days (one to 30), hours (1 to 23), or minutes (1 to 59). Or if you prefer, this panel also has the option to choose a specific end date and time so you don’t have to calculate manually.
The minimum sharing time is 15 minutes. However, you can select any variation of these times, such as 1.5 hours or even one day, three hours and five minutes if you want to be precise. This means you don’t have to worry about resetting the sharing location every day for a week while on vacation – or, conversely, forgetting to turn it off after setting it for an indefinite period.
As soon as you share your location, the person can tap your name on their People list in Find My to see exactly where you are. Once the time is up, they will no longer be able to see your location.
You can also temporarily hide your location
Another new Find My feature in iOS 27, which you can already use if you have the iOS 27 beta installed, is the ability to temporarily hide your location from someone you share your location with indefinitely. Maybe you’ll want to hide where you are before heading to a local bakery or flower shop to spoil your love so they won’t be alerted in advance. Maybe you’re planning to visit your best friend who doesn’t know you’ve arrived in town. Surprise parties are another obvious use case.
If you still share your location with someone, like your spouse or child, you can tap Hide location to pause sharing. They won’t know you did this; they will just see that your location cannot be found if they check. Pausing is more convenient than deleting sharing settings and having to add them again later.
If you want to try these features now, you can do so by downloading the iOS 27 public beta before the official release. But keep in mind that you may have to deal with a buggy experience until the issues are resolved: Beta versions are the testing phase for those who want to participate. If you decide to move forward, be sure to back up your iPhone first as a precaution.
